Bréf til jólasveinsins

scsu-aviation-logoÉg rakst á gamla prófessorinn minn úr flugrekstrarfræðinni um daginn, hann Dr. Aceves.  Hann var einn af mínum uppáhalds kennurum í flugdeildinni og er mikill húmoristi.  Í fyrsta kúrsinum sem ég tók hjá honum setti hann okkur fyrir að skrifa "scholarship application" eða beyðni um námsstyrk sem við áttum síðan að senda á nokkra staði og snýkja peninga.  Þetta var hugsað sem æfing í að skrifa umsóknir og í að koma sér á framfæri.  Ég átti hins vegar í mesta basli með þetta verkefni því flestir styrkveitendurnir gera alls kyns kröfur um að maður verði að vera innfæddur, jafnvel frá tilteknu bæjarfélagi eða hafi gengið í þessa eða hina kirkjuna.  Þar fyrir utan þótti mér afar erfitt að skrifa ritgerð um af hverju ég ætti skilið að hljóta styrkinn og hvað ég væri nú frábær, enda er ég fremur hógvær maður að eðlisfari.

Að lokum ákvað ég að slá þessu bara upp í létt grín og skrifa bréf til jólasveinsins.  Það yrði bara að hafa það þó ég fengi F fyrir þetta verkefni.  En mér til mikillar undrunar fékk ég mikið hrós frá prófessornum og A+ fyrir verkefnið! Smile   Þar að auki sagði hann mér um daginn að hann haldi ennþá uppá þetta verkefni mitt og sýni það öllum nýnemunum sem dæmi um vel skrifað "scholarship application".   Ég læt þetta þess vegna bara flakka hérna og hver veit nema það skili sér til Santa? Wink

To:  Mr. Rudolph Reindeer, director of public relations

North Pole Enterprises, Inc.

1024 Santa Clause Plaza – Suite 127

Artic Icecap  -  99’99’’N   00’01’’W  International Waters 

Subject:  Financial assistance request.                                       

                                                           

Saint Cloud, Minnesota – December 12th 2002  

Dear mr. Reindeer, 

My name is Róbert Björnsson and I am an Aviation student at Saint Cloud State University in Minnesota.   I have decided to come to you with a request for financial assistance in the hope that your renowned organization is continuing to reach out to the world community in the generous spirit of your founder, Mr. Santa Clause.

I was born in Iceland in 1977 and ever since I was a child I have been a great admirer of your company’s positive image and I must say your philosophies have had a strong impact on my life.  Your company’s strategies and ability to keep strong in today’s marketplace is ever so inspiring.   My parents have been loyal customers of yours for decades. 

In a way it was your founder’s incredible feats in aviation that made me fascinated with aviation at a very young age.    I remember building model kits of his graceful sleigh and dreaming about one day flying around the globe at three-hundred times the speed of sound, covering the entire globe in under 30 hours.  The amazing physics defying stunts caught my imagination and I knew I would devote my life to aeronautical technologies.  

But it wasn’t just the incredible aspect of Santa’s aviation accomplishments that made an impact on my life.  Even more so was the unselfish nature of his work and the undevided devotion to his customers throughout his career. Santa Clause’s passion for the wellbeing of children throughout the world, even in evil communist countries and lesser developed countries where lack of profit might have pushed other CEO’s to back out and focus on more profitable areas shows that Santa’s sense of humanitarian responsibility did not dwindle even after the Coca-Cola Company aquired 49 % of North Pole Enterprises’ stock in the 1931 hostile takeover attempt.

I have tried to live my life in accordance to Santa’s philosophies.   I have made every effort to be a productive and responisble citizen and made sure to do whatever I can to help people in need and help uphold that special holiday spirit all year long.    Wether it has been through my unselfish work of teaching priviledged children how to play video games or my tireless efforts to explain the internet to the elderly I believe I have shown an exampliary postconventional attitude even if I do say so myself.   I established myself on Santa’s list of good children and remained on his list through most of the Nineteen-Eighties.  

Right now I am studying Aviation Maintenance Management at the prestigeous Saint Cloud State University and my goal is to have a positive impact on the aviation industry upon graduation and help keep aviation the world’s safest and most efficient mode of transportation.    I ask you to consider aiding me in reaching my goals and in doing so also make the world a better, safer, more enjoyable place by donating an amount of your descretion towards payment of my tuition.  

With best regards and holiday greetings,

Róbert Björnsson. 

1821 15th Ave. SE #211

St. Cloud, MN 56304

USA


« Síðasta færsla | Næsta færsla »

Athugasemdir

1 Smámynd: Jón Steinar Ragnarsson

Óborganlega skemmtilegt bréf og að sjálfsögðu A+ concept.! Frábært.

Jón Steinar Ragnarsson, 6.3.2007 kl. 23:23

2 Smámynd: Róbert Björnsson

Kærar þakkir

Róbert Björnsson, 7.3.2007 kl. 01:03

Bæta við athugasemd

Ekki er lengur hægt að skrifa athugasemdir við færsluna, þar sem tímamörk á athugasemdir eru liðin.

Innskráning

Ath. Vinsamlegast kveikið á Javascript til að hefja innskráningu.